Aspen Music Festival And School

A Recital by Hung-Kuan Chen piano

Back To Calendar

With special thanks to Ruth Carver

Harris Concert Hall
8:00 PM

Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

MOZART: Suite in C major, K. 399
MOZART: Gigue in G major, K. 574
SCHUBERT: Piano Sonata in C minor, D. 958

SKRYABIN: Piano Sonata No. 10, op. 70
RACHMANINOFF: Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, op. 36

Remarkable for his musical sensitivity, AMFS artist-faculty member Hung-Kuan Chen offers a thoughtfully curated program of piano sonatas by Schubert, Skryabin, and Rachmaninoff. Plus, a pair of rarely performed Mozart works, Suite in C major and Gigue in G major, to begin the program.  Full of trills and tremolos, Skryabin said of his last sonata, “[It] is a sonata of insects. Insects are born from the sun […] they are the kisses of the sun.” Completing the program is Rachmaninoff’s Second Sonata, which is noted to be emotionally powerful and extremely challenging to play.

In 1992, Chen suffered a hand injury which, through his own research and meditation, he was able to heal. His comeback recital in 1998 received rave reviews, and in 2006, The Boston Globe wrote, “This man plays music with uncommon understanding and the instrument with uncommon imagination.”

Please note: Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Pick Your Seat
Loading Seats...

Harris Concert Hall

Note: Tablet users may need to zoom in to seating chart to select seats.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO