Aspen Music Festival And School

A Recital by the Pacifica Quartet

Back To Calendar

With special thanks to Jane and Bill Frazer

Harris Concert Hall
8:30 PM

Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

MENDELSSOHN: String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, op. 13
SCHOENBERG: String Quartet No. 2 in F-sharp minor, op. 10

SHOSTAKOVICH: String Quartet No. 3 in F major, op. 73

Celebrated by The New York Times for its “remarkable expressive range and tonal beauty,” the Pacifica Quartet offers works by Mendelssohn, Shostakovich, and a revolutionary work by Schoenberg.

One of Mendelssohn’s most passionate works, the A minor Quartet is one of the earliest and most significant examples of cyclic form in music. Written when he was eighteen, it was Mendelssohn’s first mature string quartet. Schoenberg’s Second Quartet was written during a very emotional time in his life when his wife left him for an affair with their friend and neighbor, the artist Richard Gerstl. The work is dedicated to her and incorporates a soprano part into the last two movements. Shostakovich’s Third String Quartet was composed in 1946 after his Symphony No. 9 was censured by Soviet authorities. The Third Quartet is a large, symphonic work and is known as one of the compositions with which Shostakovich was the most pleased.

Please note: Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Pick Your Seat
Loading Seats...

Harris Concert Hall

Note: Tablet users may need to zoom in to seating chart to select seats.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO