Aspen Music Festival And School

A Recital by the Takács Quartet

Back To Calendar
Harris Concert Hall
8:30 PM

Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

HAYDN: String Quartet in D major, Hob. III/34, op. 20, no. 4
RAVEL: String Quartet in F major

DVOŘÁK: String Quintet in E-flat major, B. 180, op. 97

Lauded by The New York Times for “making the most traditional of works feel radical once more,” the Grammy Award-winning Takács Quartet returns to Aspen with a lovely program.

Haydn’s Opus 20 quartets earned him the title “father of the string quartet.” The D major is full of catchy melodies and wit, and also contains an exquisitely poignant adagio, the only variation movement cast entirely in a minor key to be found in Haydn, Mozart, or Beethoven.

Written in 1903 while he was still a student at Fauré’s conservatory and entered into a competition for the prestigious Rome Prize, Ravel’s only quartet won neither the contest nor his teacher’s praise. However, with its brilliant transformations of color, rhythmic inventiveness, and Far East influences, all within a traditional structure, it went on to become one of the most beloved works in the quartet repertoire.

Longtime AMFS faculty member James Dunham joins the Takács for Dvořák’s String Quintet, a melodious souvenir of his time in Spillville, Iowa.

Please note: Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Pick Your Seat
Loading Seats...

Harris Concert Hall

Note: Tablet users may need to zoom in to seating chart to select seats.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO