Aspen Music Festival And School

A Recital by Vladimir Feltsman piano

Back To Calendar
With special thanks to Amy Margerum Berg and Gilchrist Berg

Reserved Seating


Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

BEETHOVEN: Seven Bagatelles, op. 33
BEETHOVEN: Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor, op. 13, “Pathétique”
CHOPIN: Nocturne in B-flat minor, op. 9, no. 1
CHOPIN: Nocturne in E-flat major, op. 9, no. 2
CHOPIN: Nocturne in B major, op. 9, no. 3
CHOPIN: Nocturne in F-sharp minor, op. 48, no. 2
CHOPIN: Ballade No. 4 in F minor, op. 52

“He plays a piano as though he is speaking through it. And he has a lot to say,” declared the Philadelphia Enquirer. The San Diego Union-Tribune praised his “effortless yet Herculean technique, and an even more formidable ability to stretch a piece to its stylistic limits and beyond.” The incomparable Vladimir Feltsman returns to Harris Concert Hall for a program of early Romantic masterpieces. Ever since his arrival in the United States in 1987 after eight years of artistic repression during the Soviet regime, Vladimir Feltsman has been fascinating audiences with his remarkable technique and penetrating interpretations of a vast repertoire. As The New York Times observed, he is “a master of reinventing himself.” He was initially promoted as a Russian Romantic firebrand, yet his debut recital consisted of works by Schubert, Schumann and Messiaen. Five years later he was devoting himself to Bach. Then it was back to the standard repertory—Haydn, Beethoven, Musorgsky—played in the big, muscular style that everyone expected in the first place. After that, there was a Mozart phase, when he played all the sonatas and other solo works at a pianoforte he had specially built. In this recital, he turns to some of the most beloved and well-known pieces of the repertoire including Beethoven’s “Pathetique” Sonata, with its gentle and spacious slow movement and tempestuous finale. The program’s second half is devoted to several of Chopin’s most popular nocturnes and his lilting and exquisite Ballade No. 4.

Hear one of the most individualistic and spellbinding pianists of our time!

Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO