Aspen Music Festival And School

A Recital by Vladimir Feltsman piano

Back To Calendar
Harris Concert Hall
8:00 PM

Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

SCHUBERT: Piano Sonata in B-flat major, D. 960

BRAHMS: Klavierstücke, op. 118
BRAHMS: Klavierstücke, op. 119

“He plays a piano as though he is speaking through it. And he has a lot to say," said the Philadelphia Inquirer. The San Diego Union-Tribune praised his “effortless yet Herculean technique, and an even more formidable ability to stretch a piece to its stylistic limits and beyond.” The incomparable Vladimir Feltsman returns to Harris Concert Hall for autumnal Romantic masterworks. Schubert’s final and perhaps greatest Piano Sonata was composed during the last year of his life. In the words of pianist Stephen Hough, “the opening movement goes beyond analysis. It is one of those occasions when a listener’s whole being [must] be surrendered to another sphere. Here there is neither the superficial gloss of refinement nor the mawkish self-consciousness of profundity; rather Schubert’s miraculous ability to bare his soul without a trace of narcissism—a combined result of his humility, universality, and an exquisite unawareness of either.”

In Brahms’s lonely later years, he turned away from large-scale compositions in favor of smaller works. The piano pieces on this evening’s program, written during this time, are notable for their poetic and introspective quality.

Please note: Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Pick Your Seat
Loading Seats...

Harris Concert Hall

Note: Tablet users may need to zoom in to seating chart to select seats.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO