Aspen Music Festival And School

A Baroque Evening with Nicholas McGegan

Back To Calendar
With special thanks to Linda and Alan Englander
7:00 PM MT
Import to Calendar

Reserved Seating


J. S. BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046
J. S. BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
J. S. BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
J. S. BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047

“At every turn, he effortlessly communicates his delight in the music he leads,” raved the St. Louis Post-Dispatch of conductor Nicholas McGegan, whose effervescent concerts are always highlights of the season. Here he takes on four of Bach’s beloved Brandenburg Concerti, which the composer dedicated to the Margrave of Brandenburg and brother to the King of Prussia.

Bach had a good job at the time, but was on the lookout for new opportunities. The set of six concertos for various instruments was designed as a musical resume, a kind of greatest hits portfolio to show off Bach at his best. Rather than using a professional copyist, Bach inscribed the collection himself in some of the most beautiful calligraphy that has survived in his own hand. As with many unsolicited job inquiries, this one appears to have been ignored. The wax seal was never opened and the works became part of the Margrave’s estate, valued at just a few groschen. 100 years after Bach’s death, the collection was finally discovered and published. The Margrave, however, may have done Bach a favor since two years later he found success in Leipzig where he spent the rest of his life. Don’t miss this exhilarating performance featuring a high-octane lineup of soloists and the incomparable Nicholas McGegan!

Performances will be 75 minutes and there will be no intermission. Please check the “Concert Protocols” page before attending for the most up-to-date protocols.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO