Aspen Music Festival And School

Aspen Philharmonic Orchestra

Back To Calendar

Local business support by Hotel Jerome

Benedict Music Tent
6:00 PM

Reserved Seating


Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

STRAVINSKY: Chant funèbre
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 10 in E minor, op. 93

British conductor Kerem Hasan won the Robert J. Harth Conducting Prize in 2016 and received both the Nestlé Salzburg Young Conductors’ Prize and the Aspen Conductor Prize last summer. He returns to tackle Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, described as “48 minutes of tragedy, despair, terror, and violence and two minutes of triumph.” The work is an extraordinary exploration of symphonic form at a time when most composers had abandoned it. The Tenth dates from 1953, the year of Stalin’s death, and according to the composer, depicts the horrific years of his regime when 8 to 20 million Russians died and countless others lived in constant fear. Shostakovich himself kept a suitcase packed under his bed in the event of an arrest in the night.

Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO