Aspen Music Festival And School

A Tribute to Music Director Robert Spano

Back To Calendar
This evening is generously hosted by Mercedes T. Bass.
3:00 PM MT

This event has
already taken place.

The Aspen Music Festival and School honors its Music Director Robert Spano with a benefit event tribute to his ten years at the artistic helm of the organization. 

This star-studded event includes live comments from AMFS luminaries and musical tributes from a cavalcade of superstar artists including pianist Yefim Bronfman, soprano Renée Fleming with Robert Ainsley on piano, violinist Robert McDuffie with Elizabeth Pridgen on piano, mezzo-soprano Michelle DeYoung, mezzo-soprano Kelley O’Connor and Brian Locke on piano, and bassoonist Nancy Goeres and clarinetist Michael Rusinek

Speakers for the event include Alan FletcherMercedes Bass, Michael Klein, Robert Hurst, Kay Bucksbaum, Asadour Santourian, and Robert Spano.


Support this event and the AMFS:

Make a gift now with this link.


Support the AMFS and its student-musicians by participating in our first-ever online auction. The auction will open at 3 PM MST on Thursday, July 2 and close at 10 AM MST on Sunday, July 5. Click on the registration link below to begin browsing our eye-catching and uniquely Aspen auction slate, from exclusive experiences with AMFS artists to gift cards from local businesses to collaborations with other Aspen nonprofits and much more. All proceeds from this auction will benefit 2021 student scholarships.



Thank you to the generous sponsors of this evening:

Tribute Co-Chairs
Kay Bucksbaum and Ann and Tom Friedman
Joan Fabry and Michael Klein 
Nan and Chuck Wall

Tribute Sponsors
The Crown Family
Lisa and Will Mesdag
Kelli and Allen Questrom

Special Gifts 
Nancy Swift Furlotti 
Soledad and Robert Hurst
Denise Monteleone and Jim Martin
Alexandra Munroe and Robert Rosenkranz
H. Gael Neeson
Janet and Tom O’Connor


View full Virtual Festival on one page here.

Print a post-able schedule here.

For guidance and tips on how to view our events on the most common TV systems, click here.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO