Aspen Music Festival And School

Special Event: A Recital by Robert McDuffie violin

Back To Calendar
With special thanks to Soledad and Bob Hurst

Reserved Seating


Please Note:

Tickets will remain in cart for 30 minutes.

COPLAND Hoe Down from Rodeo
JAY UNGAR Ashokan Farewell
GERSHWIN/HEIFETZ: "It Ain't Necessarily So" from Porgy and Bess
COPLAND: Appalachian Spring (Original Version) 

“He’s a treasure. A musician of probing intelligence, a violinist of authority, and force of great vitality,” said the San Francisco Chronicle. Grammy-nominated violinist, AMFS alumnus, and Aspen favorite Robert McDuffie returns for an evening celebrating the season theme “Being American” in this special event recital.

In addition to works by Gershwin for solo violin, he’ll be featured in the original chamber music score of Copland’s sublime ballet Appalachian Spring. The iconic work was composed in 1944 for Martha Graham, and this version includes music written for the choreography that doesn’t appear in the commonly heard suite. The scenario concerns a pioneer bride anticipating her wedding and the challenges she’ll face on the frontier. Copland’s transcendent and quintessentially American work captures the optimism of our national spirit, the sustenance of the land, and the joy of new beginnings.

Hear one of America’s most beloved artists in some of the finest “home-grown” repertoire of the season!

Tickets will remain on hold for 30 minutes.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO