Aspen Music Festival And School

LIVESTREAM: Aspen Festival Orchestra

Back To Calendar
4:00 PM MT
Import to Calendar

This event has
already taken place.

HANNAH KENDALL: The Spark Catchers
STRAVINSKY: Symphony in Three Movements
BEETHOVEN: Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano in C major, op. 56, “Triple”

New this year, the AMFS will present select concerts to the world with a series of free livestreams that represent a slice of the Festival experience! These livestreams are broadcast directly from the performance and will only be available to view while the event is live.

For guidance and tips on how to view our events on the most common TV systems, click here.

A trio of musical powerhouses join forces for Beethoven’s Triple Concerto. When played by musicians of this caliber, Beethoven’s piano trio with orchestra is three times the fun of a solo concerto. Listen in on this musical conversation, which includes a richly expressive middle movement and a rousing, dancelike finale.

The concert begins with Hannah Kendall’s The Spark Catchers, inspired by Lemn Sissay’s evocative poem. The composer was “drawn to its wonderful dynamism, vibrancy, and drive. Specific words and phrases from the text have established the structure of the work, and informed the contrasting musical characteristics created within the piece’s main components.”

Stravinsky wrote his Symphony in Three Movements during the final days of World War II, under the influence, as the he wrote, “of our arduous time of sharp and shifting events, of despair and hope, of continual torments, of tension and, at last, cessation and relief...” This highly chromatic piece has the rhythmic intensity of Stravinsky’s earlier work The Rite of Spring. Savor the collaboration of three charismatic and consummate artists in this concert that spans the centuries!

View the event listing for the live performance here.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO