Aspen Music Festival And School

Chamber Music

Back To Calendar
2:00 PM MT
Import to Calendar

This event has
already taken place.

WILSON: A City Called Heaven
STEVEN CHRISTOPHER SACCO: Quartet for Bass Trombone, Vibraphone, Marimba, and Harp (World Premiere)

AMFS faculty artists team up in joyful collaboration for three exciting contemporary works. According to composer George Lewis, his intensely colorful sextet Mnemosis “draws inspiration from two conceptions of time, history and memory in Western philosophy: Nietzsche’s notion of the eternal recurrence, and Wittgenstein’s conception of Unzeitlichkeit.” 

Steven Christopher Sacco’s has drawn raves for his “absorbing, poetic and passionate music that easily engages the sympathies and attention of a concert audience.” John Rojak of the American Brass Quintet premiered Saccco’s Sonata for Bass Trombone and Piano in Aspen in 2007 and will be featured in this world premiere of a quartet for the intriguing ensemble of bass trombone, vibraphone, marimba, and harp.

Uruguayan composer Miguel del Águila won praise from the Los Angeles Times for music that is “rugged, easy-to-digest.” The Santa Barbara News-Press called him “brilliant and… provocative…fun to listen to…” Discover new works played by dynamic performers!

Performances will be 75 minutes and there will be no intermission. Please check the “Concert Protocols” page before attending for the most up-to-date protocols.

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO