Aspen Music Festival And School

Jeffrey Kahane Back To Performers

Instrumental Focus

  • piano

Equally at home at the keyboard or on the podium, Jeffrey Kahane established a reputation as a versatile artist recognized for his mastery of repertoire ranging from Bach to John Adams. Since his Carnegie Hall debut in 1983, Kahane is known for his collaborations with artists and chamber ensembles such as Yo-Yo Ma, Dawn Upshaw, Joshua Bell, Thomas Quasthoff, and the Emerson and Takács quartets. Currently in his 18th season as music director of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra,  Kahane was previously music director of the Colorado and Santa Rosa symphonies. His recordings include works of Gershwin, Paul Schoenfield’s Four Parables, the complete Brandenburg Concertos (on harpsichord), and Bernstein’s Age of Anxiety, which was nominated by Gramophone for “Record of the Year.” A native of Los Angeles and a graduate of the San Francisco Conservatory, Kahane's piano studies were with Howard Weisel and Jakob Gimpel. First Prize winner at the 1983 Rubinstein Competition and a finalist at the 1981 Van Cliburn Competition, he was also the recipient of a 1983 Avery Fisher Career Grant and the first Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Award in 1987. Kahane is an avid linguist who reads widely in a number of languages, and he received a master’s degree in Classics from the University of Colorado in 2011. (2012)

Robert Spano, Music Director

Alan Fletcher, President and CEO